California Mission Studies Association



This picture on glass of Mission San Buenaventura depicts the historic mission in earlier times. Please note the front wall buttress, similar to the dual buttresses at Mission San Diego. Also, important to note here are the abalone shell inlays: abalone is a sea shell sacred to the native Chumash who lived in this area for thousands of years before the arrival of the Spanish. Photo courtesy of David A. Bolton.

Three days of Presentations, Awards Banquets, and Tours came to a close at Mission San Buenaventura as the 32nd Annual CMSA Conference wrapped up over the President’s Day weekend.

A Keynote Address by New York’s David Hurst Thomas, and an End Note Address by noted researcher John Johnson of the Santa Barbara Natural History Museum highlighted the weekend Conference.

A total of 25 Research papers were presented on Saturday, followed by the evening Awards Banquet were the most distinguished awards for Missions experts and dedicated aficionados were presented.

Tours before and after the Conference included a close-up look at the original Mission San Buenaventura site, as well as at the nearby Rancho Olivas.

Annually, the Missions Conference rotates between northern and southern California, with a different site chosen each year to host the upcoming conference. It’s a Conference held every President’s Day Weekend and features researchers, scholars, docents, mission employees, and aficionados of the history, architecture and culture of the Missions and related historical sites.


The Conference Keynote Address was given by David Hurst Thomas, Curator in the Department of Anthropology at the American Museum of Natural History and an Adjunct Professor at Columbia University and the City University of New York. (CMSA Photo)


Four CMSA Presidents gather, from left to right, current CMSA President David A. Bolton, Immediate Past President Daniel Krieger, former CMSA President Bill Fairbanks, and incoming CMSA President Ty Smith. (CMSA photo)


(Left) CMSA Treasurer Michael Imwalle, the 2013 Norman Neuerburg Award recipient, presents the 2015 Norman Neuerburg Award to Russell Skowronek (right). (CMSA photo)


 2015 Edna Kimbro Award recipient Elizabeth Waldo with fellow cultural musician John Warren. (CMSA photo).


(Left) CMF Board Member Dr. Jarrell Jackman, a previous Norman Neuerburg Award recipient, presents the 2015 CMSA President's Award to Michael R. Hardwick (right). (CMSA photo) 


The many faces of CMSA. (From left) CMSA Board member Nick Tipon, Associate Director of the SB Presidio Anne Peterson, CMSA  President David A. Bolton, Director of the SB Mission Archive Library Monica Orozco, Jose De La Guerra y Noriega descendent Jeannie Davis, CMSA Vice President Theresa Brunner, and incoming CMSA President Ty Smith. (CMSA photo)

Local Conference Arrangements Chair Kyra Samaniengo (left) and CMSA board member Mary  Susa, coordinator of the Friday reception, and, (right) Mission San Buenaventura Pastor Father Tom Elewaut  welcomes the Conference Attendees to his parish. (CMSA photo)


Traditional Spanish dancers under the direction of Diana Replogle-Purinton perform at the CMSA Awards  Banquet. (CMSA photo)

CMSA Annual Conferences

2015 San Buenaventura
2014 San Antonio de Padua
2013 El Presidio de Santa Bárbara and
Old Mission Santa Barbara
2012 San Rafael Arcángel
2011 San Miguel Arcángel
2010 San Luis Rey de Francia
2009 Tucson, Arizona
2008 San Carlos Borromeo de Carmel
2007 San Francisco de Asís
2006 San Diego de Alcalá
2005 San Fernando Rey de España
2004 San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
2003 Santa Cruz 
2002 La Paz, Baja California Sur
2001 Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey
2000 San Gabriel Arcángel
1999 Santa Inés Virgen y Mártir
1998 San Juan Capistrano
1997 Nuestra Señora de Loreto Conchó
(Baja California Sur)           
1996 San Francisco de Asís
1995 San Francisco Solano
1994 San Diego de Alcalá
1993 San Antonio de Padua and San Miguel Arcángel
1992 San Luis Rey de Francia
1991 La Purísima Concepción
1990 The Presidio of Santa Barbara and
Mission Santa Barbara
1989 San Juan Bautista
1988 San Fernando Rey de España
1987 Santa Clara de Asís
1986 San Buenaventura
1985 San José
1984 San Juan Capistrano